Skip to content

Essay On Kubler Ross Death And Dying

Essay about A Case Related to Death, Dying and Bereavement

944 Words4 Pages


Death, dying and bereavement would bring different memories and emotion to bereaved person. There were different manifestations of grief (Strobe, Schut, & Strobe, 2007). In the grieving process, we would experience depression, anxiety and fear about death and dying. We also felt loneliness, shock and numbness during death and dying. In addition, there were also some common grief reactions to the bereaved person too. They lost their appetite, sleeping disturbance, being exhausted and many complaints about somatic and physically (Worden, 1991; Stroebe, Schut, & Stroebe, 2007). The grieving process may have its pathway (McKissock, D., McKissock, M., & Bereavement C.A.R.E. Centre., 1998). In this pathway, it seems to…show more content…

It may last for longer than moments or months (Kubler-Ross, 1973&2005; Santrock, 2007).
The second stage is Anger. In this stage, the dying person or bereaved person were difficulty in settle down their emotions. It was very difficult to care them which was due to their misplaced feelings of irritable. Resentment and jealousy was become a symoblic their life. They might be angry to the world. They might be angry about the facts that he did before, even though they couldn’t do anything to stopped it (Kubler-Ross, 1973&2005; Santrock, 2007). They felt upset about the loss, they became angry to themselves or other person. But also the angry feelings would expressed towards to the deceased (Kubler-Ross, 1973&2005; Santrock, 2007).

The third stage is Bargaining. In this stage, people would negotiate between life an death. However, the hope for these oeple was focusing on how to pospone or delay the death. During facing death, they would keep asking or bargaining with the god that th eperson believes in. Some people would said that “Just le me live to see my grandson graduate; or “ If I do this, will you take away part of the loss or the whole of the loss?” (Kubler-Ross, 1973&2005; Santrock, 2007)
The fourth stage is Depression. In this stage, the dying perso gradually understood the certainly of their death. They became silent, refused visitors and spend much time for crying and grieving. Though they

Show More

Essay about Reaching Acceptance: the Five Stages of Grief

1141 Words5 Pages

When one is faced with grief, an individual must go through all of the five stages, whether it is for a brief or extended period of time in order to reach the final stage of acceptance. Denial is the first logical stage that one feels when trying to cope with trauma because it feels safe to trick oneself into thinking that the event did not actually occur. Anger follows when the individual realizes that the trauma did occur and there is nothing to make it better. Depression is the third stage in the grief process in which one feels helpless and dark with nowhere to run. The fourth stage of the grief process is bargaining which is when one will try to find an alternative way to cope with or get out of the situation. Acceptance is the final…show more content…

Elizabeth Kubler Ross created the five stages of grief which has particularly helped one understand an individual while they deal with grief (Baier and Buechsel 28). Denial is common when one is close to death because they want to appear strong enough to live. “Come let me wet my face” (Shakespeare Act 5, Scene 2, line 261). After analyzing the five stages of grief, it is understandable that an individual would resort to denial in order to cope with the emotional trauma. Anger is a moderately long stage of grief because after one comprehends the situation that has occurred, one may feel frustrated as if there is no solution to their loss. After the loss of a loved one, it is frustrating for somebody dealing with that grief to see others moving on past what they still coping with, such as a child are watching a parent get remarried. “With such dexterity to incestuous sheets!” (Shakespeare Act 1, Scene 2, line 157). Parents who have lost a child to cancer or a miscarriage are often times angry and do not understand why something so terrible would happen to a human so innocent. Megan Murray, a bereavement nurse at Blackpool Teaching Hospitals states that it is helpful to, “ . . . offer support, supervision, and education to local voluntary bereavement groups” (Murray 64). Money causes grief because when one does not have enough to provide, it causes stress and often times anger between

Show More